About the Institute

The Institute of Civil Engineering of the College of Engineering, University of the Philippines Diliman (UP ICE) is a premier institution for teaching, research, and extension service in civil engineering and its specialized fields. The Institute was established in October 24, 2008 upon the approval by the UP Board of Regents transforming the then Department of Civil Engineering (founded in 1910). It is the oldest and one of the largest academic units of the College.

As the first and only civil engineering academic institute in the country, UP ICE offers the following degree programs: B.S. Civil Engineering, M.S. Civil Engineering, and Ph.D. Civil Engineering with four fields of study (Geotechnical Engineering, Structural Engineering, Transportation Engineering, and Water Resources Engineering).

The Institute’s dedication to academic excellence and research is emphasized through its various academic groups focused on a particular branch of Civil Engineering. In particular, UP ICE is composed of six academic groups: Construction Engineering and Management (CEMG), Environmental and Energy Engineering Groups (EEEG), Geotechnical Engineering (GEG), Structural Engineering (SEG), Transportation Engineering (TEG), and Water Resources and Coastal Engineering (WRCEG)

The Institute is currently headed by Prof. Jose Regin F. Regidor, PhD.


The national institute of civil engineering, an internationally recognized institution in instruction, research and extension service, in civil engineering and its specialized fields.


To nurture a culture of integrity, relevance, and excellence in civil engineering, and to synergize with interrelated institutions.


After the institutionalization of UP ICE, the official logo was designed and introduced in 2009. The logo highlights three colors: blue as the traditional symbolic color for infrastructure, green representing our natural and built environment which is a common aspect in all fields of CE, and white to represent honor and integrity that every engineer should have. The shape of the logo is in curves, as opposed to rigid lines, to represent flexibility. Coincidentally, the logo alludes to letters I, C, and E.

Institute Directors

November 1, 2022 – present
September 1 – October 31, 2022 (as Officer-in-charge)

September 1, 2017 – August 31, 2022

August 1, 2014 – August 31, 2017

August 1, 2011 – July 31, 2014

2008 – 2011
2007 – 2008 (as Department Chair)

Department Chairs

Victor A. Pulmano, PhD

1999 – 2004

Peter Paul M. Castro

1996 – 1999

Andre S. Publico, PhD

1994 – 1995

Jose Ma. D. De Castro

1991 – 1994

Alfredo B. Juinio Jr.

1988 – 1991

Manuel C. Jabson III

1984 – 1985

Felisberto G.L. Reyes
Alfredo L. Juinio
Antonio Albert
Angel Martinez
Justo Arrastia
Mariano Manguerra
Edward Hyde
Clarence Wrentmore